We’ve seen a rapid rise in posts from social media consultants and ‘gurus’ about the current test by Facebook to allow fans to opt-in to getting notifications whenever a post is shared from a specific brand timeline.
Hidden under the ‘like’ button on brand timelines users can not choose to ‘get notifications’.
What this means for users:
Annoyed that you aren’t getting the updates from your favourite singer/celebrity/coffee-house/pet-store? You can not be notified individually that they have posted something new.
What this means for brands:
Users can now opt-in to getting a more personal notification of your new content.
What this doesn’t mean for users:
You will not automatically get notifications from ANY your currently liked brands/celebs, unless you go and select to get them. This goes for future likes too.
What this doesn’t mean for brands:
As of yet, brands cannot see who is ‘getting’ notifications, so please please please don’t create fake competitions to get people to subscribe to your notifications!
And as the change is rolled out… brace yourselves for more complaints/celebrations from the different side of the marketing world.